Connect with us!



Interface Councils comprises Cardinia Shire Council, City of Casey, Hume City Council, Melton City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, 
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council, Nillumbik Shire Council, City of Whittlesea, Wyndham City Council and Yarra Ranges Shire Council.

© Interface Councils Victoria 2017 - 2019.


Web design by 







It’s not about us. 
It’s about our people.


That's 1.6 million residents living in Melbourne's outer suburbs.

Residents living in Melbourne’s outer suburbs love where they live. They love having the combination of rural and urban living, the open space and they are proud of the communities they are part of. 


However, our communities face exceptional liveability challenges as a result of increasingly rapid population growth, changing demographics and the impact of historic underfunding. All of these factors have left significant gaps in infrastructure and services and are compounded by the tyranny of distance.

Interface Councils is a group of 10 municipalities that form a ring around metropolitan Melbourne and advocate for better services and infrastructure for our residents. 

The vision that residents should have access to jobs, services and infrastructure no matter where they live, is what unites us in our collective approach to improving outcomes for one quarter of the state’s population. This means making sure that our residents can get on with living their lives the way they want to live them. 

Take a look at the current state of liveability in Melbourne’s outer suburbs, here.



Which municipalities do we represent?


Interface Councils comprises 10 councils:​​