GASPT Banner.jpg

Growth Areas
Social Planning Tool


Offering local governments and their partners a method to coordinate early social planning for strong resilient communities. 


About us


The Interface Councils group is made up of the 10 municipalities that form a ring around metropolitan Melbourne, representing 1.6 million residents living in the outer suburbs.

But it’s not about us.
It’s about our people.


Melbourne’s outer suburbs are accommodating almost 45% of the state’s populatioN growth


More than 40% of residents don't live near public transport



Only 0.51 local jobs per workforce participant



less than
1 local GP
per 1000 people


Highest levels of rental and mortgage stress
in the state

The issues

Our purpose is to make sure there is a collective response to ensuring people living in Melbourne's outer suburbs can get on with their lives, the way they want to live them.




Connect with us!



Interface Councils comprises Cardinia Shire Council, City of Casey, Hume City Council, Melton City Council, Mitchell Shire Council, 
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council, Nillumbik Shire Council, City of Whittlesea, Wyndham City Council and Yarra Ranges Shire Council.

© Interface Councils Victoria 2017 - 2021.


Web design by Rubyfive Design